Update: 03 Feb 2020
Published: since 1 Mar 2008

Online Users: 7


Copyright © 2011
All Rights Reserved.

BIOTROP on FacebookFollow us on Facebook

us on Twitter

ISO 9001:2008 Certified

ISO 17025:2005 Certified

KNAPPP Certified
Posted: Tue, 24 Sep 2019 11:34
Four SEAMEO BIOTROP Scientists Attend the 27th Asian-Pacific Weed Science Society Conference - 73 time(s) visited
Shared this through:

Participating in the Conference, four SEAMEO BIOTROP Weed Scientists, i.e., Dr Soekisman Tjitrosemito, Dr Sri S. Tjitrosoedirdjo, Mr Saiful Bachri, and Ms Indah Wahyuni presented three papers titled “The Development of Invasive Alien Plant Species Management for the Rehabilitation of Invaded Ecosystems”, “Host Specificity Testing of Chiasmia asimilis (Warren) (Lepidoptera: Geometridae) as Biocontrol Agents for Vachelia nilotica in Baluran National Park, East Java, Indonesia”, and “Control and Eradication of Chimonobambusa quadrangularis at Gunung Gede Pangrango National Park”.

The Conference themed ‘Weed Science for Sustainable Agriculture and Environment’ was held on 3-6 September 2019 in Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia. This activity was organised by APWSS and the Malaysian Plant Protection Society (MAPPS) in collaboration with Universiti Putra Malaysia (UPM) and Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM).

Deputy Chief Minister of Modernisation of Agriculture, Native Land and Regional Development Sarawak, Datuk Amar Douglas Uggah Anak Embas, opened the Conference. At the opening ceremony, the President of APWSS and Chairperson of the 27th APWSS Conference, Prof Dr Abdul Shukor Juraimi, expressed his high expectation that the Conference would serve as a venue for sharing knowledge, perspectives, and experiences among the participants, and speakers on the theme “Weed Science for Sustainable Agriculture and Environment”.

Dr Soekisman, as the acknowledged Senior Weed Scientist, was invited as one of the 20 chairpersons for the Biological Weed Control session. The acknowledgement of Dr Soekisman’s expertise is well expressed by presenting the “Lifetime Achievement Award for the Outstanding Services to Weed Science in Asian Pacific Region and APWSS” to Dr Soekisman, along with three other Weed Scientists, i.e., Prof Hiroshi Matsumoto from University of Tsukuba, Japan; Dr Anis Rahman from Ruakura Research Centre, New Zealand; and Prof Khan Bahadar Marwat from NWFP Agriculture University, Peshawar, Pakistan.

At the same venue, Mr Saiful Bachri and Ms Indah Wahyuni also participated in pre-conference program consisted of paper writing workshop and meet-and-greet program for young scientists, held on 2 September 2019, to prepare the young scientists for participating in the Conference.

The Conference was attended by 239 participants from 24 countries and featured one keynote speaker, seven plenary speakers, 110 oral-presented papers, and 67 posters. (iw/sis)